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*Licenses approximately 65 professions including:

physicians, nurses, dentists, social workers, hairdressers, 

psychologists, behavior analysts, art therapists, 

occupational therapists, embalmers/funeral directors, 

veterinarians, etc.

*Approximately 250,000 individuals licensed or certified 

*1,200 – 1,500 complaints for investigation annually



*elicense.ct.gov

*Online application process

*Applicants can check status of application through their account

*Public can verify licensure status

*Licensees are responsible for ensuring  all required documentation is 

sent to Department

*License is generally issued 10-15 days once the Department receives a 

completed application with all relevant documents



License Categories Number of Licensees 

(07/18/2022)

LMSW 4,415

LCSW 8,557

LPCA 968

LPC 3,833

MFTA 477

MFT 1,744

Psychology 2,417

Physicians with reported 

psychiatric specialty

2,828

APRNs with reported psychiatric 

specialty

1,468

Total 26,707



* Section 1: DPH will consult with DCF to develop and implement a plan to waive 

licensure requirements for mental health providers licensed in other states with a 

priority given to children’s providers (report due 1/1/23)

* Section 2: Expands an existing law on expedited licensure for health care providers 

licensed in other states by eliminating current provisions limiting it to state residents 

or spouses of active-duty military members stationed in CT. (effective 10/1/22)

* Section 3: Extends, until June 30, 2024, the duration of temporary master social 

worker permits from 120 days to one year after attaining a master’s degree and 

specifies that they are not void solely because the applicant fails the examination



Section 5: Allows out-of-state social workers, under certain conditions, to provide 

telehealth services to residents of other states while the residents are in Connecticut, 

until July 1, 2024

Section 6: Requires DPH, within available appropriations, to establish a need-based 
program that waives application and licensure fees for certain applicants who will 
provide children’s mental or behavioral health services



• Section 17: Requires DPH, in consultation with the DSS, to establish a pilot program 

to expand behavioral health care to children by pediatric care providers in private 

practices (by 7/1/23)

• Section 26: Requires DPH, in consultation with OEC, to develop and implement a 

plan to establish licensure by reciprocity or endorsement for speech and language 

pathologists or occupational therapists licensed elsewhere and who intend to 

provide services under the Birth-to-Three program (by 1/1/23)

• Section 30, 32, 33: Extends PA 21-9’s temporary expanded telehealth requirements 

for the delivery of telehealth services by one year to June 30, 2024, and makes minor 

changes



• Section 42: Enters Connecticut into the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact, 

which provides a process authorizing psychologists to practice by (1) telehealth and 

(2) temporary inperson, face-to-face services across state boundaries, without 

requiring psychologist licensure in each state (10/1/22)

• Section 43: Enters Connecticut into the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, which 

provides an expedited licensure process for physicians seeking to practice in multiple 

states (10/1/22)



Questions?

Chris.andresen@ct.gov

Jill.kennedy@ct.gov

Thank you
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